

ASOR Board of Trustees Fall Meeting November 21, 2021 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Chicago Hilton Hotel Waldorf Room, 3rd Floor

Preliminary Matters

1. Call to Order and Introductions (8:30-8:40) (Richard Coffman)

Business Items (8:40-9:45)

- 2. Approval of Agenda (Richard Coffman)
- 3. Approval of the Minutes from the May 2021 Board Meeting (Richard Coffman)
- 4. Officers Nominations Committee Report (Bob Mullins)

The ONC recommends Ann-Marie Knoblauch for a second three-year term as ASOR Secretary (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2024): c.v. and statement posted at http://www.asor.org/hidden/board-info

BE IT RESOLVED that the that the ASOR Board of Trustees appoint Ann-Marie Knoblauch to a 3-year term as Secretary.

- 5. Trustee Nominations Committee Report (Jane DeRose Evans)
 - a. Elected Institutional Trustees (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2024):
 - To an additional 3-year term: Erin Darby
 - To an additional 3-year term: Lynn Dodd
 - b. Member-elected Trustees: (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2024)

- To an initial 3-year term: Margaret Cohen
- To an additional 3-year term: Jane DeRose Evans
- 6. Board-Elected Trustee Appointments (Sharon Herbert)

For election to an additional 3-year term (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2024)

- a. Peyton (Randy) Helm
- b. Eric Meyers
- c. Ann V. Sahlman
- d. Carolyn Midkiff Strange

Biographical sketches for all available at https://www.asor.org/about-asor/committees/board-of-trustees-2021/

- 7 Motions from the Publications Committee
 - a. COP recommends to the Board that Stephanie Budin be reappointed for a second three-year term as Editor of NEA.

BE IT RESOLVED that the that the ASOR Board of Trustees appoint Stephanie Budin to second a 3-year term as Editor of NEA (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2024)

b. COP recommends to the Board that Alex Joffe's term as editor ANE Today be extended for one year while we search for a suitable replacement.

BE IT RESOLVED that the that the ASOR Board of Trustees appoint Alex Joffe to a 1-year term as Editor of ANE Today (January 1, 2022-December 31, 2022)

- 8. Treasurer's Report (Emily Miller Bonney)
- 9. Finance Committee Discussion and Action Items (Andy Vaughn and Emily Miller Bonney)
 - a. Vote to RECEIVE the FY 2021 Audit (Exhibit A)

BE IT RESOLVED that the ASOR Board of Trustees receives the Fiscal Year 2021 Audited Financial Statements that have been reviewed and discussed by the Finance Committee and EC. (Note: this is not a vote to approve, but a vote to receive the completed audit. This vote signifies that the Board has reviewed and discussed the audit.)

b. Vote on recommendation to Board to emend December 2020 decision with regard to Board-Designated Building Fund (Susan Ackerman).

Possible language for motion: BE ITS RESOLVED that the Finance Committee recommends that the ASOR Board of Trustees emend its prior resolution adopted in December 2020: "BE IT RESOLVED that the ASOR Board of Trustees adopts the motion and amends "Appendix II—Spending Policies" of the ASOR Investment and Spending Policy to add a new account: "Board-Designated Building Fund" with a 5% distribution rate (after the Fund reaches a market value of \$500,000)" to strike the parenthetical "(after the Fund reaches a market value of \$5

Break (9:45-10:00)

Discussion and Voting Items (10:00-10:45)

- 10. The Strategic Plan (Sharon Herbert)
- 11. The DEI Committee and necessary amendments to the by-laws
- 12. Election of Erin Darby to the chair of the DEI Committee (Sharon Herbert) **Discussion and Information Items (10:45-11:15)**
- 13. Ad hoc Committee on Climate Impact (Sharon Herbert)
- 14. Ad hoc Committee on Archives (Sharon Herbert)
- 15. Formation of Search Committee for Chair of the Board (Sharon Herbert)
- 16. Future Annual Meetings (Andy Vaughn)

Reports (11:15-11:30)

- 17. Development Committee Report (Lynn Dodd)
- 18. Chairs Coordinating Council (Chuck Jones)
- 19. ACOR (Pearce Paul Creasman)
- 20. AIAR (J. P. Dessel and/or Matthew Adams)
- 21. CAARI (Ann-Marie Knoblauch)

Breakout Discussion Groups (11:30-12:30)

- 22. Future of the Annual Meeting (Sharon Herbert, Andy Vaughn)
- 23. Climate Efforts (Sharon Herbert, Andy Vaughn)