skip navigation

Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize 2015

The William F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research in Jerusalem announces the 2015 Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize call for papers. This prize provides $650 for the best published article or paper presented at a conference by a Ph.D. candidate in Syro-Palestinian or biblical archaeology. Authors may be of any nationality but the article or paper must be in English. Co-written or co-presented pieces may be submitted if all the authors or presenters are doctoral candidates; the prize, if awarded, will be divided equally among authors/presenters.

All submissions (in PDF format) must include the author’s academic affiliation, mailing address, email address, and phone number. Please indicate the department in which the author is enrolled and the expected date of graduation. Submission of conference papers must include the name and location of the conference and the date on which the paper was presented. Submission of published papers must include the full bibliographic citation. All submissions must be received no later than December 31, 2015. The prize will be announced on Sean’s birthday, March 9, 2015.

Send PDF of paper to:
Mr. Sam Cardillo, W. F. Albright Institute of Archaeological Research

Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize Committee: Carol Meyers and Beth Alpert Nakhai, co-chairs; Aaron Brody, Seymour Gitin and Edward Greenstein, members; J.P. Dessel, ex-officio; Norma Dever, honorary member.

2012 Prize Recipient: Robert S. Homsher of University College London Institute of Archaeology. His paper was entitled “Mud-Bricks, Construction and the Process of Urbanization in the Middle Bronze Age Levant.” It was presented at the 2011 Annual Meeting of the American Schools of Oriental Research, in San Francisco.

The Sean W. Dever Memorial Prize was established in 2001 by Professor William G. Dever and Mrs. Norma Dever, in memory of their son, Sean.